The Conference Series: DYNAMIC SUN

DYNAMIC SUN is a new conference series, which aims to provide a highly visible platform for the observers, theoreticians, numerical modelers and instrumentation experts in the field of solar physics and space science to discuss cutting edge scientific challenges and instrumentation.

First Chapter: DYNAMIC SUN I in Varanasi, India

The concept of the Dynamic Sun series is originated by Dr. Viktor Fedun (Sheffield University, UK) and Dr. A. K. Srivastava (IIT BHU, Varanasi, India), as well as other colleagues of the international solar physics community. The first meeting of the Dynamic Sun conference series was organised by members of the Department of Physics, IIT BHU, Varanasi, India in close collaboration with the Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering, Sheffield University, UK on 22-26 February 2016.

The Dynamic Sun I conference supported and funded by national (DST, IIA, PRL, IIT (BHU)) and international (ESA, AOARD, Sheffield University) organisations. More than 120 participants attended the conference.

Uniqueness of DYNAMIC SUN

Dynamic Sun aims to focus on the 'scientific themes' (not topics or parallel big sessions) in Solar Physics on which the like-minded scientists, young researchers, and students will come on a single visible platform and discuss cutting edge science and instrumentation. Subsequent conference chapters will be held every 2 years. Another advantage is that 'selected theme' will be acting as a timely 'booster' for the ongoing activities in the solar physics community. The recent trends are either to organise the wide conferences with various parallel themes, or disjoint compact meetings with certain specific goals. However, the present series will focus on cutting edge themes, which will be decided by the Dynamic Sun Executive Committee (DSEC).
Credit: V. Gupta, T. Singh,
A.K. Srivastava, V. Fedun

Outcome of the First Conference, Varanasi, India, 2016

The conference got the front-line scientific contributions from distinguished and emerging researchers in the field of Solar Physics that revolve around the following themes:

  • Solar magnetism at diverse spatial scales;
  • Chromospheric and coronal heating problems;
  • Modern observations and modeling of MHD waves and aspects of refined seismology techniques;
  • Physics of chromsopheric/coronal jets at diverse spatio-temporal scales;
  • Space and ground-based instruments to reveal the magnetized solar atmosphere.

  • The main outcomes are as follows:

    Research Collaboration: This conference has shown an excellent potential to build new research links (and already built them!) between solar physics communities from India, Europe, USA, and Asia (e.g., China, Japan). Participants agreed that the meeting was a very good platform for the international solar physics community to discuss recent progress and future challenges in science and instrumentation. Dynamic Sun I helped to establish long-term relationships between diverse group of scientists and supported creation of financially sustainable bridges between research groups.

    Publications: The outcome of the conference will be published in the Advances in Space Research.

    Early-career researchers engagement: The research program of the Dynamic Sun I was novel opportunity for early-career researchers to discuss science and collaborate. Participants of the meeting took part in international exchange and gained an experience of working in a multi-national scientific environment.

    Instrumentation: Conference had an important session on instrumentation where path-breaking science using next generation instruments has been discussed, e.g., Aditya, NLST, Chinese Giant Telescope, ROSA, DKIST, Solar-C and IRIS.

    Dynamic Sun Executive Committee (DSEC)

    Dr. Iñigo Arregui (IAC, Spain)
    Dr. Dipankar Banerjee (IIA, Bangalore, India)
    Prof. Paul Cally (Monash University, Australia)
    Dr. Tom Van Doorsselaere (KU Leuven, Belgium)
    Dr. Viktor Fedun (Sheffield University, UK), Head
    Dr. David Jess (Queen's University, Belfast, UK)
    Viggo H. Hansteen (Institutt for teoretisk astrofysikk, University of Oslo, Norway)
    Prof. Bo Li (SU, China)
    Dr. Scott W McIntosh (HAO, NCAR, UCAR, USA)
    Dr. James McLaughlin (Northumbria University, UK)
    Prof. Leon Ofman (NASA-GSFC, USA)
    Dr. Sergiy Shelyag (Northumbria University, UK)
    Prof. Kazunari Shibata (Kyoto University, Japan)
    Prof. Sami K. Solanki (MPS, Germany)
    Dr. Abhi. K. Srivastava (IIT BHU, India), Deputy Head
    Dr. Robert Sych (ISTP, RAS, Russia)

    This DSEC is fixed for the first three episodes to secure Dynamic Sun for following years.

    This page will be updated with more information. Please, come back later.